top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

GF Lemon Drizzle Cake with Blueberries and Poppyseeds


Welcome back lovelies! After another busy week, I managed to squeeze in a cup of tea and some blogging, although it wasn't easy! I have such a delighted recipe here for you today, and a bonus its gluten free!

I just have to say I absolutely love the colours in this, the purple and white contrast lovely together!

This cake is a gluten free lemon drizzle cake, with vanilla cream cheese frosting, blueberries and poppy seeds. Drizzled lemon purple icing and garnished with blueberry macarons.

This cake was a huge hit, I had a friend of mine ask me when I was putting up this entry on my blog because she wanted to make the cake for her Dad's birthday.

This cake was the last cake I made for my classes, it was for my Drama class that I had spent 4 years with. I will miss the crazy times, jokes, games and memories that we have developed. I will miss them all so much next year and wish them the very best future.

This is my teacher Ms Gould, who I am so privileged to have had her as my teacher for the past 4 years at Dio. She is a true inspiration and very kind. I hope in my future pathway I make her proud.

I actually don't like cake! Fun fact about me (:

This cake for me was one of my favourites, because it had such simple decorating, it didn't take too long to make it. But also that something that good can be Gluten Free.

My brother is a coeliac and I am always looking for new Gluten Free recipes to try whenever he is home. For me when I prefect a gluten free recipe, I usually can't stop baking it because I have so many Gluten Free friends.

To get the recipe for my macarons, check out his blog entry. It has step by step tutorials.

This is the middle, cream cheese frosting, blueberries and poppy seeds.

This cake was 4 layers.

Recipe

Cake

300g butter softened

300g gluten free plain flour

300g caster sugar

4 large oragnic eggs

3 lemons

2 oranges

2 teaspoons glute free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon xantham gum

1/2 teaspoon salt

Juice of 1 lemon and 1 orange.

Lemon Syrup

1/2 cup lemon juice

1/2 cup sugar

Cream Cheese Frosting

125g softened butter

175g fat cream cheese at room temperature

525g sifted icing sugar

1 tsp vanilla paste

Purple Lemon Icing

100g Icing sugar

40ml Lemon Juice

Purple Food Colouring

Method

-Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Line two baking tins with baking paper that are 20cm diameter. Ste aside.

-Place your softened butter and sugar in a bowl and whip on high speed with electric beaters until light and fluffy. Almost white in colour.

-Crack in eggs, one at a time and make sure to beat in between each addition. Add zest of both fruits.

-Sieve flour, baking powder, salt and xantham gum into a seperate bowl.

-Place 1/3 of the flour into the butter mixture and the alternate with the juices. Add 1/3 of the juices. Doing this avoids lumps.

-Keep adding the flour and juice until you have a nice smooth mixture.

-Pour the mixture into the lined cake tins. 1/2 the mixture in each cake tin. Smooth with a pallete knife to get a nice smooth finish.

-Place in the oven and bake for 40 minutes. Until the skewer comes out clean.

-Leave to cool down on a wire rack.

Meanwhile make your syrup.

-Add your lemon juice and sugar into a small pot. Place on low heat and allow the sugar to melt. Don't stir.

-Simmer for 3 minutes or longer depending on the thickness of the syrup you desire.

-Pull of the heat and set aside.

Assembly:

-Stab the cakes witha fork and drizzle the lemon syrup through the holes. Let the syrup allow to soak in the cakes as much as possible. If you do this when the cakes are still warm you will have a better distrubution of lemon syrup. Cut your both cakes in half.

-Smear some cream cheese on the board and place one piece of the cake on a cake board. Add cream cheese frosting.

-Sprinkle frozen blueberries and push into the cream cheese. Sprinkle poppy seeds over the blueberries.

-Repeat this until you have completed all the layers.

-Place the cake in the fridge.

-With the frosting, frost the cake with cream cheese frosting. Make a crumb coat. This locks in the crumbs and gives a neat finish to the cakes exterior. So not too much.

-Place in the fridge.

-Frost the cake with the frosting, generous this is the final layer.

Make your Purple icing:

-Add 100g icing sugar sifted into a bowl, slowly drizzle the lemon juice, not all of it. Mix until you get a desired consitency, enough for it to drip off the cake. Dye purple.

-Place the purple icing in a ziplock bag and snip off the corner. Pipe along the edge of the cake and allow the icing to drip off the side of the cake.

-Pipe circles of icing on the cake, 8 in total.

-Garnish with Puple Blueberry Macarons.

Tada!

Tons of elements, but so worth it!

Until next time Lovelies..

xx

Linz


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page