top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

21st Birthday Three Tone Chocolate Triangle Cake


Ok I don't have a lot of photos of this cake because well it took a very long time to make as your can probably see from all he detail. But I got enough shots so you could see what it looked like.

It also took so long to make I didn't have time to really style the shoot unfortunately, so I lay down some scraps of material and threw a few mugs and teapots onto the set.

This cake is a big one! It is a double tiered chocolate mud cake with a coconut orange mousse filling an iced with chocolate ganache.

Garnished with three toned chocolate triangles, white chocolate, dark orange chocolate and creamy milk triangles.

I mean I am obviously writing about these cakes, 2 years later because I am only updating my blog now since I left my cake business. I honestly look at these cakes now and am in such amazement in how I made these cakes and also how I dreamt up all the different designs. It is crazy, I would take inspiration from architecture of buildings, or flowers I saw in the garden. I still look at this cake and couldn't believe my imagination was so creative to think of this design from scratch.

Of course I have thought of many cake designs but many are impractical because they don't have a solid fixture or sturdy build. This is very important because the cake has to with stand delivery and holding up for a day in the fridge maybe before the special day.

If I was to have my 21st Cake I would like it to be something like this. Super simple but so effective. When you look at this cake it really is just a cake with three different coloured triangles, yet it is so effective. Because you have different coloured triangles, all the triangles are placed individually so they all have their own angle. They are all angling upwards so it makes it more appealing for the eye having them heading in the same direction.

Omg it is so pretty I love it, keep reading if you want to find out how to make it.

Recipe:

Chocolate Three Tone Cake

Buttermilk Cake

linzxvi.wixsite.com/linz/single-post/2018/05/07/Chocolate-Ombre-Piped-Rosettes-Cake

Chocolate Ganache

Tempered Chocolate Triangles

linzxvi.wixsite.com/linz/single-post/2018/05/05/Lemon-Honey-Passionfruit-Cube-Cake

Coconut Orange Mousse

4 leaf gelatine (soaked)

1 cup sugar

3 large eggs

2 egg yolks

1 Tablespoon Orange Zest

1/3 cup freshly squeezed orange juice

2 Tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

100g unsalted butter cut in cubes

5 Tablespoons Grand Mariner

1/2 cup cream

1/2 cup Thread Coconut

Method:

Soak your gelatine leafs in ice cold water in a small bowl. Leave to sit for 5 minutes. Begin your mousse.

First prepare the orange curd, by placing sugar, full eggs, egg yolks, orange zest, orange juice and lemon juice in a heatproof bowl. Whisk to combine.

Place water in a saucepan and bring to a simmer, place the bowl on top of the double boiler. Cook the curd uncovered, mixing constantly for about 25 minutes.

Remove from the heat and slowly whisk the butter into the curd on cube at a time.

Whisk the cream until medium-hard peaks have formed. Fold the cream into the orange curd mixture. Add your coconut.

Squeeze out all the excess water from the gelatine leaves and mix into orange curd.

Line 3 cake tins 15cm with glad wrap and 2 cake tins 10cm with glad wrap. Distribute the mousse evenly between the tins. Allow it to set.

When layering your cake, place each mousse cake disc between each cake layer, with a ganache border to encase it in the middle of the cake.

Yum I love mousse xx


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page