top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

White Chocolate Spice Cake


I thought I would just start off with a photo as an entry! Because I even look at these photos and my thoughts are "wow". I love the very vibrant red background, I choose this because I knew that it would be really overpowering, so overpowering it would bring the cake out even more!

This is a 5 layer cake, alternating with chocolate buttermilk cake and multi-spice cake. Frosted with salted dulce de leche cream cheese icing, drizzling white chocolate ganache, piped chocolate rosettes. Garnished with tempered white chocolate waves and cinnamon spice pear french macarons.

A suggestion from my brothers friend was put something next to the cake so you can compare the size of the cake. Because it is huge! And very heavy! I love the greenery in this cup and saucer, somehow really complements each other nicely!

The cinnamon quills and jungle looking foliage was a really good styling component. It is funny because when I am working, I am either dreaming in my head my next cake, my next styled shoot, my next blog entry topic. There is not a day my brain doesn;t stop imagining!

So I don't know if you can tell, but it is a very big cake. This was funny because, at the same time, the little boys who live next door were making silly comments. Made me laugh so much!

The white chocolate waves I love so much, they are big, beautiful and bold. I am so glad I added the cachous and gold sprinkles because it gave the waves a lot of dimension and texture. Just what it needed!

Ahhh what a beaut!

Let's begin the recipe! I have two for you today! The frosting and the spice cake. Because they were both so amazing and worked so well together!

Recipe:

Dulce De Leche Frosting

NB: Triple recipe to frost 5 layer cake!

250g softened cream cheese

375g softened butter unsalted

1050g icing sugar

3 tsp vanilla

1- 2tsp tsp salt

100g dulce de leche

Method:

-Beat the butter in a bowl until no lumps remain. Add the cream cheese and beat until it is well incoporated. (when the colour is uniform)

-Slowly add the sifted icing sugar gradually in 6 increments mixing on slow with the beater (so it doesn't poof up) Mix well in between each addition.

-Once all the icing sugar is incorporated, add the vanilla and beat on high speed for a few minutes until the icing is very fluffy and got lots of air in it.

-Keep the icing at room temperature when frosting your cake so you don't damage your cake.

Multi-Spice Cake

NB: makes 2x 20cm rounds

2 cups brown sugar

113g butter

1/2 cup vegetable oil

5 large eggs

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp ground star anise

1tsp mixed spices

1st ground cloves

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp salt

Method:

-Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Grease 2x 20cm cake rounds and set aside.

-In a clean mixing bowl cream sugar and butter with a mixer on steady. When it is light and fluffy and pale in colour, gradually add your oil in a steady stream. Once this is fully incorporated, gradually add you eggs one at a time, mixing well in between each addition to stopping the mix from seperating.

-Once all the wet mixture is uniform in consistency and texture, begin sifting your dry ingredients into the mix.

-Alternate the dry mixture with the buttercream. Start with adding your flour first and ending with flour.

-Pour the batter into tins, half in each. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean, or only a few crumbs attached.

Go hard, go make a cake, go tag LINZblog in it!

LINZ x x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page