top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Chocolate Ombre Birthday Bow Cake


Hi all! I am back, back for another post. For another great post! Ahh don't you just love the way this cake looks, so simple but so effective. At this point I am looking at a camera lens, I really want to treat myself after working 70-80 hour weeks for 2 months, while one of the hot plate chefs broke their arm.

I do love my current 85mm 1.4G and will forever love it. I just want something new, something to give a new perspective.

This cake is a boysenberry soaked chocolate buttermilk cake with boysenberry and dark chocolate mousse, frosted with light vanilla swiss meringue buttercream frosting, white chocolate purple ganache dripping, decorated with hand made tempered chocolate bow, ombre colours and chocolate straps.

This cake would be perfect to order for someone who you are not sure on what decorating they like, because it is very mellow and simple, but still very pretty.

I actually had the boysenberry mousse for this cake, and it honestly was a stand out flavour! The texture of the seeds from the boysenberry complemented the silky soft texture of the mousse. It also cut the bitterness of the chocolate and added some sweetness to the mousse.

The hand tempered chocolate decorations, did take a lot of time and practice. But I am so happy as to how they turned out, I painted them ombre inwards to the centre to give it a more complex look and not make it look to simple.

I hope you all have been enjoying your autumn, I am hoping to be posting some Autumn recipes now I have a bit more free time, in the next few weeks so you guys can wrap up in this cold weather and enjoy a recipe here and there.

I also have some exciting news that I thought I would share with you tonight. When I attended Dio, (high school) we had a winter issue that was filled with achievements from the girls from within the school, news from the school council, changes in the school ect. I got a formal email from the organiser of the magazine, asking if I would be interested in having an article on my blog and myself. I am to post a winter recipe, photos, news about me and my adventures! So I am so super stoked and can't wait for that to happen!

I will be definitely making that a day work, and nothing else, make it look so pretty, it will be such great advertisement for my blog, to all the school girls parents and siblings.

I am thinking of doing a plum, pistachio and white chocolate shortcake, but it might not be pretty enough, so I might do a long oblong tart served with whipped cream or yogurt or something along those lines.

Happy larry with my cake :)

Sweet I have one recipe for you guys! This is the boysenberry chocolate mousse, it is a killer of a mousse and you will blow your guest away at your next dinner party!

Recipe

Boysenberry Chocolate Mousse

Boysenberry Compote:

250g frozen/fresh boysenberries

100ml water

75g sugar

-Place all the ingredients in a saucepan on medium heat, and bring to a boil, you know when your compote is finished when all the water has disappeared. Add more sugar if you want a sweeter compote.

Mousse:

Sabayon method

nb: only use gealtin leaves if you are using it for a cake filler, otherwise omit it if serving in glasses.

Makes:900g

300g bittersweet chocolate 65% cocoa solids or more

140g egg yolks (about 7)

80g caster sugar

40ml water

380ml pouring cream

Method:

-Melt the chocolate in a bain-marie (double boiler) until it has melted. Don't overheat the chocolate or it will alter the texture.

-Whisk the egg yolks in an electric mixer fitted with a whisk attachment.

-Meanwhile put sugar and water in a saucepan and bring up to a boil.

-Heat until it reaches 121 degrees, then slowly pour the sugar syrup over the egg yolks and continue to whisk to a full sabayon. Whisk until mixture becomes thick and pale.

-Whisk until it is cool.

-In a separate bowl whip the cream until it reaches ribbon stage, then fold the sabayon mixture into the cream. (the yolk mixture is the sabayon) Carefully fold one thirds of the melted chocolate. Fold in the cream and the remaining chocolate. Until you have an evenly mixed sabayon mousse.

If using gelatin leaves..

-Place the finished mousse in a double boiler, and heat gently over low heat. Once the mixture is at a warm temperature begin soaking your gelatin leaves.

Soak 4-5 gealtin leaves in cold water, let them sit for 5 minutes.

-Squeeze all the water out of the leaves and add to your heating mousse.

-Mix your mousse over low heat until you can no longer see the leaves or there is no transparent liquid in the mousse.

-Pour into lined cake tins with tinfoil that are smaller then your cake.

Woooooh seya next week!

LINZ x x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page