top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Neenish Tarts

Hey everyone! Yes I am back. Linz is back. The site got a fresh makeover and the photography and media all got an update. But one thing remains the same, my love for my blog. LINZblog will forever be special to me. Today I have my Mum's favourite tarts in this entry.

My beautiful Mum, these are her favourite little treat, also her favourite colour is yellow. This whole food shoot is very yellow hue. Another reason it reminds me of my mum.

Neenish Tarts, crisp thin tart shells encasing gooey lemoney filling. Half the the top of the tart covered in chocolate giving the tart its distinct look. Two tone look.

I love Neenish tarts because its combining two flavour combos we all love, chocolate and lemon. I put a lot of lemon zest in my lemon filling so you get a real punch of lemon flavour in the middle without affecting the consistency.

For this recipe it is best to use the variety of Meyer lemons, they have the best flavour and juice. They are very easy to find in your neighbourhood, because they survive in cold temperatures and frosts.

While I have been over here in Sydney it has made me realise how much I miss my love for baking, I am currently updating my blog, portfolio and website so I have evidence of all my current work to show to maybe possible job offerings. While I have been here in Sydney I have not had time to concentrate on my true passion (food photography/styling) due to the fact I had to find a job and support myself week in and week out.

But after 8 months I have experienced many things and meet many people and know my heart still lies in this industry. I have learnt a lot of life lessons that cannot be taught.

I am just happy to be back into what I love doing. I also miss some good home baking, moist cakes, crunchy slices and heavenly pastries.I have a lot of entries to be uploaded that I didn't manage to upload while I was in New Zealand, so don't go anywhere!

This styled shoot, was rather simple. I just wanted the tarts to be the centre of attention. I love how these tarts are rustic, the pastry is not squared off, the chocolate dipping isn't a straight line, the icing sugar isn't dusted to perfection. I think it gives off that homely mum treat everyone knows and loves.

These tarts are super easy, I have included the pastry recipe in this entry. But if your not feeling adventurous at making your own pastry. Store brought pastry is fine too.

So here you go, the recipe...

Recipe

Neenish Tart

Sweet Shortcrust Pastry

Filling

1/2 cup icing sugar

100g butter, softened

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice

Pinch salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

Icing

Chocolate Ganache Icing

Ratio 2.1.5

200ml cream

150g dark chocolate

Method:

Sift icing sugar into a bowl, beat in butter, vanilla, salt and condensed milk and lemon juice. Mix until well combined. Leave to set in the fridge until it has thickened.

With your already made tart shells. Pour the filling into the tart shells. Place back in the fridge and allow the filling to set before you glaze it.

Heat your cream in a saucepan, until it simmers and is hot enough. Break up your chocolate and put it in a bowl. Pour the hot cream over the top of the chocolate. Let it sit for a couple of minutes before stirring it. Stir the chocolate until it is all melted.

Glaze the tarts. Pour the ganache into a shallow rectangle dish. Dip half the tart in the chocolate and allow the icing to set at room temperature.

Enjoy babes x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page