top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Blueberry Bran Muffins


Hey guys! This is a relatively short blog entry unfortunately because I don't have many photos of the muffins and that is because these muffins disappeared before I could even photograph them.

They are so popular among our house, they are that healthy muffin you can grab and go if you don't have time to make breakfast.

Wholemeal flour and bran you are still getting some good fibres from this muffin. Plus did I mention they taste incredible!

So these are my blueberry bran muffins, ideal for those mornings you are running late and don't have time to prepare something for breakfast.

I love using blueberries because they are not too sweet and don't have any seeds that can get stuck in between your teeth. I think the blueberries and the bran complement each other nicely. Plus blueberries are high in antioxidants. Growing up as a kid we always had packed lunches and I loved it because It would change regularly what was in my lunch. I think this is important to keep kids interested in their lunch. It sure kept me interested. I would have all the different muffins, cakes, scones and slices from the baking I would do in the weekend. Then because we sourced our vegetables from our garden it was seasonal to what I had in my sandwiches. I also had a different selection of fruit everyday, apples, mandarines, tamorillos. Putting good habits into your kids and following through with them. Also I find if your parents are eating healthy it encourages you to do the same as a kid.

I remember going to kids birthday parties throughout primary school because I could eat junk food! It was the only time I could have chips, red sausages, lollies, chocolate and my favourite fairy bread! For those international readers if you don't know what fairy bread is, essentially it is white bread spread with butter and sprinkled with 100 and 1000s.

Here is the recipe..

Recipe:

Blueberry Bran Muffins

55g butter melted

1 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

1 3/4 cups wheat bran

3/4 cup caster sugar

3/4 cup toasted oats

1 teaspoon fine salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

4 medium bananas, mashed

3 large eggs beaten

3/4 cup whole milk

2 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups frozen/fresh blueberries

Method:

Heat oven to 180 degrees. Line muffin tins with muffin cases.

Whisk together flour, wheat bran, sugar, oats, salt, cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda. Whisk until combined.

In a seperate bowl whisk eggs, milk, vanilla, butter and mashed banana until well combined.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until the dry ingredients are just combined. Do not overmix. Fold in the blueberries.

Pour the batter 2/3 to the top of the muffin cases, because these muffins will rise.

Bake muffins for 20-30 minutes rotating the muffin pans halfway through the baking time. You know they are cooked once a skewer is inserted and only a few crumbs are stuck to the skewer.

Place the muffins on a wire rack and allow to cool down.

Dust with icing sugar and serve warm.

Deliciousness


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page