top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Lemon Syrup Cream Cheese Cake


Hey guys! Welcome back to my blog! How are you doing! I have a great cake here for you. It is one I made for my very close friend from boarding school. Her name was Lauren Garland and she was 3 years older then me but we bonded so well. I have just been searching my hard drive and trying to find a photo of me and Lauren together and I can't find one.

She was my track buddy, she was at boarding school at Dio as well and we both trained in track 100m and 200m. So we always had the same trainings and would run down to the track stadium together to train every day.

She was such a good friend to have and helped me through high school because she knew how much I was struggling. A lot of the nights of the week I would go over to the Yr 13 dorm and just go sit in her room and gossip or watch movies. Just to get out of our prison like boarding house. Not that hers was much better.

But anyway I made this cake for her. Funny story about lemon syrup is that it was the only dessert at boarding school we liked. They use to have squares of lemon syrup cake with unsweetened greek yogurt. Lauren and I would come to the dinning hall late because of our training. So we could easily snag 2 pieces of cake. Heck we deserved it, running to training, training and then running back to the hostel. I never felt guilty.

I love the look of this cake, how simple and elegant it appears. And the naked look, I choose this because I find the lemon syrup cake is so delicious on its own you don't want other flavour profiles or garnishes to take away from the beauty of the lemon syrup cake. That is why I kept the cake naked and didn't add any other additional elements. Sometimes simple is better.

But today we have a 3 tiered lemon syrup cake, soaked with lemon passionfruit syrup, piped kisses and white chocolate sails and gold leaf to garnish.

Yum yum! These photos are making my mouth water haha. I love lemon syrup cake and have fond memories of it at boarding school. Although I can make a better lemon syrup cake it was the only thing I liked on the whole boarding house menu which has too say a lot.

Recipe

Lemon Syrup Cake (I made a double recipe)

150g butter softened

220g caster sugar

2 Tablespoon fine lemon zest

3 eggs

120g desiccated coconut

1 1/2 cups plain flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 cup milk

Lemon Passionfruit Syrup

220g caster sugar

185ml water

4 Tablespoons lemon juice

1 Tablespoon Passionfruit

Cream Cheese Icing

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Line three 15cm x 8cm cake tins. Cream butter, sugar and lemon zest until light and fluffy.

Sift flour and baking powder in a bowl. Mix in coconut and set aside.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well before the next addition.

Slowly fold in the flour mixture until it is all combined.

Mix the milk into the batter until it is nice and smooth.

Pour the batter evenly between three cake tins. Bake for 15-20 minutes, but keep checking by poking a skewer in the middle.

Once the skewer comes out clean or a couple of crumbs stuck to it, remove the cakes from the oven.

With a fork, poke lots and lots of holes into the top of the cake.

Make the syrup, pour everything into the pot, and heat until the sugar has dissolved and everything is well combined.

While the syrup is hot pour it onto the cake layers, I find this helps keep the cake moist and it seeps deeper into the cake when it is poured onto the cake layers when the syrup is warm.

Place your frosting in a piping bag and begin piping meringue kisses onto a cake layer. Press down the second layer and repeat this process until you have no more cake layers to use. Sprinkle gold sprinkles over the top of the cake.

Place the syrup in a squeeze bottle and begin drizzling syrup over the fully constructed cake to give it that mouth watering drizzle effect. Inset your chocolate sails and garnish the top with gold leaf.

Ohhh yum, I want a piece right now xx


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page