top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Lemon Meringue Pie


Ahh the classic guys! You have to stick around for this one! This is a goodie. I say that about every recipe, but I mean you need to have a good basic lemon meringue recipe up your sleeve that you can pull out at any time. I think this is the perfect recipe.

Just look at how stunning that looks, perfectly whipped meringue, perfectly crimped pastry. Lemon meringue pie was a huge staple in our house and everyone knew how to make it. Because we had a dozen of lemon trees that just produced and produced lemons we were very creative in ways we found to use up the lemons. Making lemonade, lemon curd, lemon meringue pie and general cooking always calls for lemons.

So we have a lemon meringue pie for you today. Sweet shortcrust pastry with a tart lemony filling finished off with a sweet Italian meringue. Oh so simple but oh so good. I love anything with lemon. It is so refreshing.

Originally we use to use french meringue but I have opted against this because I think the meringue doesn't look that glossy and doesn't peak as high as the Italian meringue. Although the Italian meringue is sweeter because it uses cooked syrup, I feel you get a better texture of meringue from Italian. Plus to compensate it having more sugar in the meringue, just reduce the sweetness of the filling and make it more tart.

Lemon meringue pie was a staple dessert in our family. I think because we all loved lemon flavoured desserts. But I remember my brother Seany talking me through making this dessert. Back then we used a crumb base but for my food photography I needed something that would cut perfect triangles pieces and not have a crumbly base.

Here is a small video I made when I was probably 11 years old of making mini lemon meringue pies, I used to put them in ramekins because with the crumb crust I found they looked nicer in a little ramekin.

It takes me back a bit when I watch these videos, wow I was so young and I just loved making videos, taking photos and baking. 9 years later and nothing has changed but I think the passion is evolving again. After being in Canada for 8 months and struggling to find or source good quality ingredients and find myself spending my whole pay check on organic produce I am lost for words.

I use meyer lemons in this recipe because they are a good breed of lemons to get lots of juice out of each lemon. And if you like your lemon pie to be extra lemony, instead of adding more lemon juice because this will alter the consistency of the filling. I would add more lemon zest.

Oh well lets get onto what you have all been waiting for, the recipe...

Recipe:

Sweet Shortcrust Pastry:

Filling:

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

2 Tablespoon zest lemon

3 egg yolks (whites reserved for meringue)

pinch of salt

Italian Meringue:

3 egg whites

1/4 teaspoon cream tartar

1/4 cup sugar

2 Tablespoons water

Method:

Filling:

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees.

Mix the sweetened condensed milk, pinch of salt, fresh lemon juice, zest of lemons and yolks together in one bowl. Mix till a uniform batter. Pour into cooled tart shell and smooth the top.

Meringue:

Place sugar and water in a saucepan and heat over a high heat. Brushing the sides with a wet pastry brush if any sugar granulates stick to the side. Heat the sugar syrup to 115 degrees. (soft ball stage)

Beat the egg whites and cream of tartar on a medium speed and gradually pour the sugar syrup in the mixture on a gradual steady speed. Once all the sugar syrup is combined, set the electric beaters to a high speed. Whip the egg whites until the bowl is cold to touch and hard peaks are formed.

Set aside.

Assembly:

Pour the meringue on top of the filling, with a knife or palette knife, spread the meringue all over the pie.

To get a nice meringue top, make little flicks with the meringue on top.

Bake the pie for 15-20 minutes or until the meringue is nicely browned. Remove from oven and allow the pie to cool down.

Transfer the pie to the fridge and chill for at least 2 hours before serving.

Yum yum,


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page