top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Lollie Cake


Omg guys! This is a childhood recipe for me 100%. This is probably the second thing I ever learnt to bake. Well not that there is any baking involved. But was what I learnt to do with one of my older brothers Seany. He was also a good baker, he showed me how to make carrot cake, lemon meringue pie and mallow balls. All his staples and what he was the best at making.

This is Seany, I made this cake for him for his 22nd birthday. Wow that seems a long time ago he is now 27. This was him after he had just come back from Germany and USA. I missed him a lot because he was the brother I was most like and he wasn't around for a lot of my childhood. We are 8 years apart which puts us on different life stages.

I spent 18 months living with Seany, and to be honest I moved in not really knowing my brother and not having a close relationship. But we helped each other through hardships, obstacles and supported one another when they needed it. I honestly wouldn't trade for all the money in the world for my brother and I's relationship. It is so nice we know so much about each other and personality. We Skype so often like once very two weeks because we are so use to living with each other.

We got along so well and lived so well together with each other. I honestly miss living with my brother, he has help mould and shape me into a better person and taught me some valuable lessons that I will never forget.

So this recipe reminds me of him, because as kids when he would be baking I always wanted to help but I was too young. I was about 5 years old and couldn't even reach the kitchen bench. He use to give me the job of cutting the eskimos. (These are like foamy soft lollies you put in the lollie cake) This was my favourite job because I would always sneak and eat some lollies when my brother wasn't looking.

This lollie cake is a staple to New Zealand, it is sold at every bakery and is just so well known. It isn't anything fancy. It is crushed up graham crackers, lollies and coconut to put it perfectly simple. Nothing glamorous but very much a recipe close to my heart.

Recipe:

Lollie Cake

Ingredients:

125g butter

180g eskimos/fruit puffs

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

250g malt biscuits crushed

1/2 cup desiccated coconut

Method:

Melt butter and condensed milk over low heat. Set aside.

Cut up the fruit puffs, into small pieces.

Place the biscuits in a doubled plastic bag, tie the end. Go out onto the deck, and with a wooden rolling pin begin smashing the biscuits until it is crushed, but not too fine. You don't want to do this in a blender because it's hard to control the grind of the biscuits.

Mix the butter mixture with the biscuits and fruit puffs. Shape the mixture into a log.

Sprinkle with coconut and roll in some baking paper. Wrap in baking paper and allow it to sit in the fridge to set.

Slice 1.5cm thickness biscuits.

Yum yum, xx


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page