top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Louise Slice


Hey guys! How ya doing! This is quite a small entry but just because I don't have many beautiful food photography photos for this entry.

I think I would like to remake it and do another food shoot because I find this shoot looks like I ran out of ideas so I picked some flowers from the garden, place the slice on some wooden boards and threw some tea cups in the shoot.

I think it was towards the end of the farm when my parents were selling it and I was trying to bake a lot of sweet treats because I was going to miss the farm.

This slice is the bomb! Don't let the small amount of delicious photos detour you away from this slice. I am a big fan of this slice, and I always remembering seeing these square white tupperware boxes on the kitchen counter when I would come home from school. I would always run to those because that is what Mum put her sweet treats in. Muffins, cakes, slices ect.

This slice has a shortbread base, raspberry jame filling (but you could put what ever flavour jam you prefer. And a coconut meringue topping. So yum!

Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Sift in the dry ingredients.

Press the shortbread base into the tin evenly and set aside.

Make your own flavoured jam (I choose raspberry because I love raspberries) and spread it over the top of the shortbread base.

Beat the egg whites on high speed and once stiff peaks are reached add toasted coconut.

Spread the topping over top of the slice evenly and bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Recipe:

Lou Lou Slice

Ingredients:

Base:

75g butter, softened

55g sugar

2 egg yolks

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

1 1/4 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Filling:

1/2 cup raspberry jam

Topping:

2 egg whites

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup fine desiccated coconut

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Lightly grease a 20 x 30cm rectangle shallow tray for the slice. Line with baking paper.

Cream the butter and sugar together until light in colour and fluffy.

Add the egg yolks one at a time and mix throughly between additions.

Add the lemon juice and stir into the creamed mixture.

Sift the flour and baking powder into the creamed mixture and stir till a dough has formed.

Press the dough evenly on the bottom of the tray.

Spread your jam over the shortbread base.

Beat your egg whites in a well sterilised bowl, until soft peaks have formed. Slowly pour your sugar into the egg whites and beat on a very high speed. Until soft peaks and a nice meringue consistency has formed.

Lay your coconut out on a baking tray and place in the oven for 1-2 minutes to toast it slightly to enhance the flavour.

Gently fold in the coconut trying not to deflate your egg whites.

Spread on top of your jam mixture. Sprinkling a bit extra coconut on top of the meringue. I love the coconut in this recipe, adds such great texture.

Bake for 25 minutes or until meringue has turned to a nice golden brown.

Remove from oven and let it rest on a wire rack. Slice the Lou Lou slice while its warm into squares.

Dust with icing sugar and serve.

Yum Yum xx


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page