top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Mickey Mouse Cake


Hey guys! Whats going on? So this cake I have for you today is a bit unusual for the style of cakes I used to make. But I had someone message me asking for a 1 year old cake. She was a little girl who loved Mickey Mouse. At first I wasn't sure I would be able to pull off something quite like what they wanted or I would be proud of. That is the hardest thing about caring about all your cakes and how they look. Sometimes I would have iced a whole cake and I didn't like the way it looked and I would take off all the icing and start again.

Because I am a cake maker who believes in everything on the cake should taste nice I didn't want to use fondant to make the mickey mouse shapes. Then I thought about keeping the cake simple and the mickey mouse decorations simple which is essentially two circles for ears on top of a big oval. So I tempered some chocolate and make the ears by spreading tempered chocolate over some baking paper and when it was semi set I used a cookie cutter to make an indent in the chocolate.

To make the head of the mickey mouse, I got a bowl and turned it upside down and lined it with tinfoil. Make sure you have some overhang of tinfoil in the bowl so it is easy to pull off the bowl.

Make sure you temper your chocolate. Pour the chocolate over the top of the upside down bowl swirling around the bowl so every side gets an even coating of chocolate. Allow the chocolate to set before removing from the bowl.

Then I just fixed the chocolate ears with some tempered chocolate, I placed the ear where I wanted it and piped some tempered chocolate around the ear. Hold the ear in place until the chocolate sets (2-3 minutes) Repeat for the other ear.

I wanted the main focus to be the mickey mouse symbol so I just did a basic frosting of rosettes and some sprinkles. Because what 1 year old little girl doesn't like pink sprinkles.

I finished the mickey mouse top off with a pink ribbon because this is iconic for the girl mickey mouse and I think the pink bow ties well with the one border of pink rosettes and pink sprinkles.

Keep scrolling if you want to read the recipes..

Recipe:

Swiss Meringue Buttercream:

Devils Food Cake (a go to chocolate cake)

2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup freshly brewed coffee

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. In a large bowl sift together, flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and cocoa.

In a seperate bowl add milk, vanilla, eggs and oil. Whisk until the eggs are well broken up.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Fold the ingredients together so you don't get any lumps.

Pour the fresh brewed coffee once it has cooled down into the batter, and fold to combine. Expect the batter to be very thin.

Grease and line three 18cm cake tins. Pour the batter evenly between the cake tins.

Place in the preheated oven and bake for 30-45 minutes. Always check earlier then needed because sometimes the cakes cook faster then the recommend time on the recipe.

When a skewer is inserted with little or no crumbs clinging to the skewer, the cakes are cooked.

Turn the cakes out on a wire rack and let them cool.

Enjoy xx


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page