top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Black Dorris Plum Cake


Hey lovelies, back with another cake order. But this one is more special then any other one I have made. I got messaged by a girl asking for a cake for a fashion designer. She wanted it to be out there and have red roses.

This cake is a plum doris cake,plum coulis, salted oat streusel. It is a pink tie dye cake, iced with a white chocolate swiss meringue buttercream, with handcrafted buttercream flowers and buttercream roses. White chocolate plum shards of chocolate.

Decorated with different coloured swiss meringue buttercream. Green leaves, pastel coloured flowers and vibrant red roses. This cake was such a show stopper.

I love the look of the cake from a birds eye view, the well executed roses and the shards in between really brings the whole cake together.

I then received an email from Annah Stretton, saying she loved the cake I made and she has looked through my blog and is amazed at what I have accomplished at the age of 17. She then asked if I would like to feature in her 6th upcoming book.

This was a huge surprise for me, I had no idea I was making a cake for Annah Stretton and now she wants me to feature in her book?! If some of you don't know who Annah Stretton is, she is a New Zealand Fashion Designer and is a successful entrepreneur, author and speaker. She has over 30 retail stores and 5 books.

Since being approached by Annah, I have been in contact with her secretary who is helping Annah write her next book. The book is about young women taking opportunities, following their dreams and being entrepreneurs. I have filled out of a document of 15 odd questions and had a 45 minute interview with her secretary discussing my business.

This opportunity is so big, and cannot wait to see where this publicity takes my blog. I will let you know more information as soon as I find it out myself!

The email that will change LINZ blog ^^^

Annah cutting into her birthday cake made by LINZ blog!!

Recipe:

Salted Oat Streusel

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon-3/4 teaspoon salt (adjust you want it quite salted because it balances out the sweetness of the plum coulis)

3 Tablespoons of butter (softened)

1/4 cup slivered almonds

Method:

-Place all the ingredients in a bowl.

-Add your softened butter and mix with your fingers. WIth mixture between your fingers use a finger clicking motion, to mix the butter into the mixture.

-Once there is no butter visible, set aside.

Plum Coulis

6 plums (canned or fresh)

3/4 cup sugar

Just less then 1/4 cup water

Method:

-Place all the ingredients into a pot. Add less water, because you want this coullis to be really thick so it doesn't squirt outside the cake layers when you put it between the cake layers.

-Heat gently and bring the mixture up to a boil, once it reaches a boil, bring down to a simmer, and simmer to the consistency you desire.

Assembly:

-Cut your plum doris layers in half so you have 4 cake layers in total.

-Soak with plum juice (if you used plums from the can)

-With your white chocolate swiss meringue buttercream, ice the cake layers, when you reach the 2nd layer. Pipe a border around the cake (this acts as a barrier to stop the plum coulis escaping)Place plum coulis in the cake layers and top with the salted oat streusel.

-Continue with the rest of the layers, and apply a crumb coat to cake. Place in the fridge to set for at least 30 minutes, preferbly 1 hour.

- With your coloured pink icing apply a tie die coat to the coat (this is your final coat so make thicker then the previous one)

-Pipe red roses with red buttercream.

-Garnish with white chocolate plum shards between each buttercream rose.

-With a leave nozzle, with light green buttercream, pipe leaves and a leaves boarder at the bottom of the cake.

-Decorate the cake with a range of different coloured handcrafted buttercream flowers.

-Finish with a dollop of plum coulis in the middle.

-Admire your masterpiece.

Flowers are blooming for 2016, I can't wait to see what comes!

LINZ x x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page