top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Caramel Stoopwafel Cake


Hiya LINZ fans! I have a goodie of a post for you tonight! It was a cake order requested for 60 people. I had never catered for this many people, so happily took on the challenge. It was also an 18th so I felt the pressure.

I am now personalising my cake boards with my own logo stickers that I got made with my business cards. I love them and think they tie my whole business together in making it look professional!

This cake was my favourite of all time. I was making this bad boy and once I had finished toasting the meringue, I stepped back to admire my work! And I just sighed and thought 'yay'.

I also love the shoot for this. I didn't have much planned for this shoot but that didn't matter because it still turned out fabulous! It had a really nice enchanted theme!

This cake is a 5 layer carrot cake, then the top tier is a 3 layer chocolate chip banana cake. Frosted with orange cream cheese frosting, drizzling salted caramel sauce, garnished with spun sugar curls, toasted Italian Meringue and homemade stoopwafles.

These are my favourite biscuits of all time. They originate from the Neverlands. And they are a favourite in their country, they have them fresh at markets anywhere you go. They are like a crispy waffle with a gooey chewy cinnamon centre. Irresistible!

This is a photo of where you can kind of see how big it was. It was massive almost to heavy to lift!

There will be a post up soon on how to make the stroopwafels because I have made them and photographed them, just haven't uploaded the entry yet! So keep your eye out for those ones. They honestly make the cake I swear!

I love the spun sugar curls I did, they are quite simple if you are a passionate baker and worked with sugar quite a bit. I think it just breaks up all the meringue. I also think it adds a complex element to it, so that not everyone could make this cake.

Awesome! I just have the cream cheese frosting I use for all my cakes. This is a staple recipe so save this entry to your favourites. Cream cheese icing is a winner in anyone's books!

Cream Cheese Icing

Enough to ice a standard 18cm 3 layer cake.

No tutorial sorry guys, I was making this cake late at night!

Caramel Drizzle:(click here for the recipe)

linzxvi.wixsite.com/linz/single-post/2016/1/21/Salted-Caramel-Cake-Caramel-Popcorn

Stroopwafles:(click here for the recipe)

linzxvi.wixsite.com/linz/single-post/2018/04/11/Dutch-Stroopwafles

Cream Cheese Icing

250g softened cream cheese

375g softened butter unsalted

1050g icing sugar

3 tsp vanilla

1 tsp salt

Optional: Add orange zest

Method:

-Beat the butter in a bowl until no lumps remain. Add the cream cheese and beat until it is well incoporated. (when the colour is uniform)

-Slowly add the sifted icing sugar gradually in 6 increments mixing on slow with the beater (so it doesn't poof up) Mix well in between each addition.

-Once all the icing sugar is incorporated, add the vanilla and beat on high speed for a few minutes until the icing is very fluffy and got lots of air in it.

-Keep the icing at room temperature when frosting your cake so you don't damage your cake.

Well that's me, I hope you all love the cake and want to order it for your 18th birthday!

Till next time lovelies,

LINZ x x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page