top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Peach and Tamarillo Waffles


So as a kid, I have fond memories of waking up to waffle batter I had made the previous day before. heating up the waffle iron, and spooning on batter which would soon produce me a fluffy waffle at 7am in the morning. I would then drizzle maple syrup, chocolate syrup, seasonal fruits and unsweetened yoghurt over the top.

I remember taking the waffle maker to the beach, my brothers, brothers friends and boy cousins would keep me constantly making batter, when each one of them could eat 6 waffles a breakfast.

I have always loved waffles, intact I have numerous photos of waffles when I was teaching myself food photography. You have to start somewhere and these photos definitely show that.

I could see what I was trying to do with this shot. I teared the waffle into hearts to try build some height. And then sprinkled some muesli on the waffles to make it look rustic. Turns out that trying to make something look rustic will just do the opposite.

Of course, I have updated my equipment, but that was only because I began to see improvement. My kit was beginning to restrict me as well to my possibilities.

I taught myself, less is more. And this is always a common theme in food photography. Simple is safer and you will likely come out with a better shot 80% of the time.

Sometimes I have crowded shots, and made them extremely busy and they have worked. But usually that was a well thought out shoot. For example my mini apple pies shoot. I absolutely nailed that one on the head. But not to mention that took me a whole day.

Food photography is definitely a passion of mine, it combines my two loves of cooking and photography.

Lets go, I have a food tutorial for you!

Sift all dry ingredients into a bowl. Set aside.

Seperate your eggs, yolks in one bowl and whites in another.

Mix yolks, cinnamon, vanilla, milk together in one bowl.

Gradually add your sifted dry ingredients, and mix until well combined.

Gradually pour in your melted butter. Make sure it has cooled down a bit.

Mix the butter into the batter until it is well combined.

Begin beating your egg whites, until they resemble soft peaks.

I always add a sprinkle of sugar to help the egg whites peak up a bit more, but this is optional. Make sure you beat your egg whites just before you are about to mix them into the batter because you don't want your egg whites to deflate. They are what keep your waffles nice and fluffy and airy.

Now add your egg whites into the batter. Folding the whites in carefully.

Now your batter is ready. If you don't want to do all this work in the morning before you can eat. I usually make the batter the night before and wrap it in glad wrap and place in the fridge.

Cook on your waffle maker, and wooh la!

Recipe:

Sweet Waffles

Batter:

3 eggs separated

2 cups milk

140g unsalted butter (melted)

1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 Tablespoons caster sugar

3 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

2 1/4 cups flour

Toppings:

Stewed peaches

Stewed Tamarillos

Chocolate glaze

Maple Syrup

Greek Yoghurt

Method:

Sift all your dry ingredients into a bowl and set aside.

Place egg yolks, milk, and vanilla in a bowl, whisk until the eggs are well broken up.

Make a well in the flour and gently pour in the milk mixture. Mix until nice batter has formed.

Gently pour in the melted butter and mix until well combined.

Beat your egg whites until soft peaks have formed. Sprinkle a little sugar in the eggs whites once they have foamed up a bit for more stable peaks.

Pour the egg whites into the batter, gradually fold your egg whites into the batter without breaking the whites.

Pour batter onto a preheated waffle skillet. Cook waffles as your manufactured waffle machine instructs you too.

Enjoy babes x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page