top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Dutch Stroopwafles


I am not kidding when I say these are my favourite biscuits! They are so delicious. I have great childhood memories of these biscuits.

Overtime I was with mum and after the supermarket shopping, she would always go to the dutch store on the way home. It was a delicatessen filled with all dutch authentic goods. She used to buy preserves and fresh cheese there. She would always treat me to a packet of stroopwafles if I went in with her and helped her unpack the shopping.

I remember the owners used to know us well because we would be coming every fortnight. And when they would slice the cheese, even though most of the time we are getting the same cheese. She would slice off a bit for me and my mum to try. Oh the cheese would just melt in your mouth. Tasted so fresh and good for you.

I remember she always use to give me these lolly necklaces for free as well. Which kept me pretty entertained for the journey home. Now I think about it, I actually didn't like the taste of the lollies on the necklace they were just sugar.

So my love for stroopwafles began at a young age, and even when I was flying to Mexico, on one of our 6 flights they handed out stroopwafles. I almost jumped out of my seat and hugged the flight attendant. He could see I was so happy, he actually gave me 3. And 3 to my friend but she was gf. So I had 6, I couldn't eat them all, as I was trying to be in shape for Mexico. But the couple I did eat brought back so many memories when I was eating it!

You do need a special machine to make these, and I scouted a year on trade me (NZ second hand online store) for a year waiting for one of these bad boys to show up. It was a breville waffle cone maker. They were not that popular and actually weren't available for purchase at any retail stores. I finally got my hands on one and was so happy.

Best way to have these: Rest the cookie on top of your coffee mug (they are perfect size to sit on your coffee mug without falling in) Let it sit there for a minute or so just to warm up the biscuit.

Hands down best cookie, so here is the recipe,

Stroopwafles

Dough:

1/2 cup warm milk

2 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast

4 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup caster sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

225g unsalted butter cut into cubes

Filling:

1 cup molasses

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

84g butter

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup icing sugar

Method:

For the waffle dough, place the warm milk in a bowl, sprinkle yeast and a bit of sugar on top. Set aside and wait till the yeast has activated.

Put flour, sugar, cinnamon, salt in a food processor. Blitz until well combined. Add butter and pulse until it resembles coarse sand. Add the eggs and yeast mixture to the flour mixture and pulse till combined.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead just until the dough comes together. 10 kneads or so, we don't want to overwork the gluten. Place in a bowl and cover with a damp towel. Allow to rise for 45 minutes.

Preheat a waffle cone iron skillet onto a medium setting. Pull out the dough and break the dough up into 18 even pieces. Roll all those 18 pieces into nice tight balls.

Place one ball on the heated waffle cone, and flatten the ball slightly to give it a head start. Shut the waffle cone lid, and cook for 1-2 minutes, until golden brown. Remove from the waffle cone maker. Grab a circle cookie cutter a size smaller then your waffle. Cut the waffle to give it perfect edges and symmetry. Now here is the secret, you must slice these while they are hot, once they are cold its impossible. Grab a small seated knife and with your hand on top, gently guide your knife through the waffle to make a horizontal slice. Set on a wire rack to cool. Cook remaining waffles.

Combine the molasses, brown sugar, corn syrup, butter and 1 teaspoon cinnamon in a saucepan over medium heat. Allow to cook until it comes to a boil, stirring consistent so nothing catches and burns.

To get the right consistency make sure you bring it to soft ball stage. Or on a thermometer (112 degrees)

Once it hits that temperature, quickly pour the mixture into a clean bowl, so it stops the cooking process.

Let it cool for 10 minutes until it is thicker and easier to spread.

Assembly:

Sandwich the cookie together by spreading 2 tablespoons of filling on one cookie.

Allow to cool on a wire rack. Dust with icing sugar!

Wooh la! Yum yum x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page