top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Lemon Passionfruit Melting Moments


Hey guys! Good morning. It is a very overcast day here in Vancouver. I got up at 7am and cleaned the bathroom. It was so filthy I don't think anyone had ever cleaned it. I was so happy once it was all cleaned and I sprayed some vanilla mist. So if your wondering I moved into a new apartment in Vancouver Downtown. But I share with three boys and the apartment is 3 bedroom. Everyone at work says I am crazy to be doing that or that I won't survive. But I know myself.  

 I don't ever like paying high rent, and while the apartment is filthy, after one day of my deep cleaning it will feel a lot more like a home. I would rather save on rent so I can go on some more holidays. I see holidays much more enriching and beneficial then staying in a modern apartment with a nice view. 

So after I cleaned the bathroom I went and did a sweaty session at the gym. Then I will go home and clean the fridge and the cupboards so I have somewhere to put my food.  

 I did a nice sweaty session with a fitness instructor called Rebecca she is from the Uk. We talked after the training because she asked if I use to be a runner. I wonder how she knew? She is on a working holiday visa like myself and is 8 months through hers. She is not sure if she wants to get her PR here because it is a long way from home. I can totally agree with her, I mean I am a very family based person. I love my family and love seeing them. But even being in Canada my family finds it too expensive to come visit me. I even find it too expensive to fly home. It was the first cousin on our Dads side getting married this weekend and I congratulated him Orr messenger.

 But enough of my personal life, let's talk baking. Especially melting moments. Today I have lemon passionfruit melting moments. My dads favourite. I love the tartness of the lemon and the sweetness of the passionfruit and then the crumbly buttery biscuit that is sandwiched the filling together.

I like to make these melting moments mini because I find everything looks nicer in a more petite form. These would look so delicate on a high tea plate.  Pair it with a nice beautiful cup of coffee to start your morning off just right.

 These biscuits are great because with the base vanilla shortbread biscuit you can mix and match the filling with whatever you feel like. Or depending what fruit is in season. I love lemon and passionfruit paired together because it taste so refreshing.

Keep scrolling for the recipe ... 

Recipe:

Lemon PassionFruit Melting Moments

250g butter, room temperature

1/2 cup icing sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla paste

1 1/2 cups plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

2/3 cup cornflour

1 lemon zested

Icing sugar for dusting

Lemon Passionfruit Icing:

60g softened unsalted butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

120g icing sugar

60ml passionfruit pulp

1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

Method:

Preheat oven to 160 degrees and line one rectangle baking tray with baking paper.

Cream softened butter until it is paler in colour. Sift in icing sugar and add vanilla paste and mix until nice and fluffy. 

Sift flour, baking powder, cornflour into a bowl and mix to combine. 

Add the dry ingredients and lemon zest to the creamed mixture until a crumbly dough has formed. 

Roll the dough into walnut sized balls and place 5cm apart on a prepared tray. Press each ball down with a fork dipped in cornflour, to prevent it from sticking.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, they shouldn't really colour at all.

Remove from the oven and allow the cookies too cool on a wire rack.

For the filling:

Beat the softened unsalted butter and salt until the butter is pale in colour. Beat in the sifted icing sugar, lemon juice and half the passionfruit pulp until just combined. The reason I only add half the passionfruit pulp is so you can mix it and see the consistency of the icing. If it is too thick add more passionfruit pulp. 

Assembly:

Turn the biscuits upside down, remember that the biscuits will sandwich so, only spoon icing onto half the biscuits. Press the other similar sized biscuit on top. 

Dust with icing sugar and serve on a pretty plate!

All done x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page