top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

White Chocolate Pistachio Cake


Hey guys! How you doing? I am very good, the sun isn't shinning, it is a bit overcast here in Vancouver, but I got up at 5.30am and went and did a workout which I am really happy about.

Today I have a monster of a cake for you. This was a cake I made earlier in my business and I didn't have a standard sizing. I also was using my Mums old cake tins, which were 20cm. I would make two big cakes and then slice them in half.

I then saw how big the cakes were and decided that my cakes were already so rich that they are super filling. A cake that size would be enough for a 21st party. Because you need to remember a lot of the time when people are celebrating they have more then just the cake. They have alcohol, cheese boards, fruit platters, mini savouries. Most of the time the cake is only cut towards the end of the night once everyone has eaten all the snacks food. Most of the time people are not that hungry when it comes to the cake.

So I invested some money into buying the best cake tins from the UK. Because I thought I need sturdy cake tins, with different sizes to make sturdy cakes with even layers.

They honestly were the best investment, they did cost me a fair bit. But they are such good quality, and I noticed the cakes cooked much more evenly and quicker. I got loose bottom cake tins because I find these are the best way to get cakes out of tins and the easiest to clean. I was so happy with my purchase of cake tins.

I purchased the brand masterclass.

I was so super excited when my cake tins arrived because I couldn't wait to try them out! They came in these gorgeous pink boxes and I love pink. I was so happy with my purchase and so happy I invested in good cake tins because it only made me cakes 10x better.

It also meant I could have a selection of different sized cakes, 20cm, 15cm, 12cm and 9cm. I tended to use the 12cm the most and make tall 4 layered cakes with that one. The 9cm was for fillings and mousses so they would fit encased in the cakes.

I love the pastel look of this cake, the green and the yellow. When you think of a green day you think of a bright green, where this is a very appealing colour for the eye. It is like a green apple colour.

I always would ask the client for a personalised message. If it was an anniversary or birthday. I typically didn't like to write it on the cake because I had my own decorating ideas and wanted the cake to look great on its own without the writing to distract your eye from the decorating.

I also sticked on the cake board, LINZblog stickers to the cake board. This gave the cake a much more personalised look and people could look at my sticker on the cake board and know I was the business that made the cake.

Keep scrolling for the recipe guys!

Recipe:

White chocolate and pistachio cake

Ingredients:

3/4 cup unsalted unshelled pistachios

1/4 cup chopped salted pistachios

1 cup all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cardamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

1/4 teaspoon vanilla paste

115g unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

2 oranges, zested

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Grease and line four 15cm cake tins with baking paper.

Place unshelled pistachios in a food processor and blend until a nice paste has formed.

Sift flour, baking powder, cardamon and salt into the food processor with the pistachio paste. Blitz until it is nicely combined.

In a seperate bowl combine milk and vanilla.

In another large bowl, combine butter and sugar. Cream the mixture until it is nice and fluffy. Add eggs into the creamed mixture one at a time, making sure to mix throughly between additions.

Alternating with the pistachio dry mixture and milk wet mixture, begin adding it to the creamed butter.

Beginning with the pistachio dry mixture and ending with the pistachio dry mixture.

Mix in the chopped pistachios to the cake batter to give the cake some texture.

Add orange zest and mix till well combined.

Place the cakes in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer is inserted and comes out clean, or only a couple crumbs clinging to it.

Turn the cakes out on a wire rack and allow to cool.

Are you a fan of pistachio?


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page