top of page
P O P U L A R   P O S T 
F E A T U R E D    P O S T 

Chocolate Boysenberry Vanilla Cake

Hiya! I am so happy to get a post out this week, because I have been on such a good streak, each week for a decent few months! I hope everyone is looking forward to the holiday breaks that approach us. I hope we are all getting in the festive attitude! I did have my Graduation Ball for Dio, and have a few photos to share!

From left to right, Sonya (my bestie from high school) she is like my rock, she accompanied me to my grad ball. Jamie, a school leaver alongside me, had many great memories with this girl, and I wish her all the best for her future!

Had such an awesome night, and was a great way to end high school. But school isn't for me, and I can't wait to see what the future holds!

Wolah! This was the cake order. My very supportive athletics coach ordered this as a thank you present. Loved the way this cake turned out. As always macarons are a favorite in many peoples eyes.

These were raspberry and dark chocolate macarons, they are one of my best macaron flavorings. One that is highly ordered. I did an order of 28 Raspberry and chocolate macarons for a Dio Pre ball. One friend came up to me at the ball, said that my macarons were the best she has tasted! And she's even been to France and tried the real deal!

I choose to do naked icing on this cake, which is different to usual, I wanted the focus to be on the piping and macarons not the icing.

This cake is a chocolate buttermilk cake, soaked in boysenberry syrup, vanilla swiss meringue butter cream and boysenberry compote. With boysenberry syrup drizzling, and macarons to garnish. Yum!

I am having so much fun making cakes for orders, it's great experimenting different flavors, ideas and designs. I am forever designing a different cake for a different occasion.

I love pairing cakes with flowers in my shoots, these pink ones stood out to me because they were very vibrant and would make the cake pop! I also added the same coloured ribbon. I hoped the ribbon trail would lead your eyes to the cake!

Ohhh la la..

I don't know why, but every time I make a cake I get a photo with it. Something I did from the start and I feel like it will make an awesome time line in my life of all the cakes I have made in all the different places!

Just another one to add to the collection!

Cut your 2x deep 8inch cakes level!

Sorry for the terrible lighting, was baking late.

Assembly:

Soak your cake layers with the boysenberry syrup. Allow them to sit for 5 minutes to seep up the juice.

Spread a generous amount of icing on one cake layer.

Be quite generous because that is the only middle part that has icing!

Pipe a barrier of icing, this is where your boysenberry compote will sit.

Place the compote in the middle of the cake, careful to not pile he compote up, because once you have the weight of the second layer, it will squish the compote out.

Ice the cake with a crumb coat, but this time you do not need it to set, because we are doing a naked icing!

-Drizzle the boysenberry syrup down the sides of the cake.

-Colour some swiss meringue and using a 6B Nozzle, pipe different sized meringue kisses onto the cake.

-Pipe bigger meringue kisses, this will hold the macarons.

-Woo la la!

Swiss Meringue Buttercream:

French Macarons:

Boysenberry Compote Recipe

3 cups Boysenberries, fresh/frozen/canned

1 cup sugar/honey (adjust to your sweetness)

1 vanilla pod (scarped)

Method:

I love compote because you can throw everything into a saucepan and just add a bit of this a bit of that and you have a lovely fruity compote.

Place the boysenberries, sugar and vanilla into a small saucepan. Put on medium heat, and allow the mixture to boil.

Once the mixture has boiled turn down for a simmer. Simmer for 20 minutes on low for a compote. If you want a runnier compote simmer for less. If you want a thicker compote simmer for longer.

That's really it! Thank you everybody for the incredible support. So appreciated. So excited to hit the world with all my magic!

Till next time lovelies,

LINZ x x


A R C H I V E S 
Anchor 2

Hey! I'm Lindsay. Travelling and working around the globe in hospitality. Favourite things include my camera, sports and drinking ciders at the beach <3

F O L L O W    M E
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page